Was checking my mail when I saw that one of them was from 'Bank of America Security'. Since the title of the email was labelled as '**Bank of America Important Notice***', I decided to read it, just in case.

OMG!!! Someone has been trying to log in to my Online Banking account other than me! Hence, I need to re-confirm my account information with the bank by 18 September or else my account will be suspended. To aid me in doing so, they provided me with a link to update my information. Thanks so much...........
........MY FOOT.
First of all, why does the Bank of America Security Team have an email address that is update@yahoo.com ?!
Secondly, people trying to hack into my account is something serious, so, why is the customer service department signing off the email? In addition, isnt this email supposed to be from the security team?!
Thirdly, is there a Bank of America in Singapore?
Lastly, and the best of all, why am I receiving this email when I dont even have an account?!
So, I decided to click the link and see where it brings me to.

Okay, so it's probably authentic and I would have believed it if not for the fact that this 'fake site' warning popped out.

Click to enlarge. It's written in Japanese but it's basically a warning that the site might be a fake one to cheat people of their credit card information and so on.
So, I decided to log in and try. Not surpisingly, I was allowed to log in even though I typed rubbish for the log-in name and password because...I obviously dont have one. Next, I filled up the information that they wanted. Of course, I typed in crap. Click the following links to see what crap I wrote.
Page 1
Page 2
After I hit the submit button, they were kind enough to show a thank you message.
Thank you message
Wow, I've heard of online scams but I never thought that it would happen to me...someone who doesnt have a bank account to begin with.

OMG!!! Someone has been trying to log in to my Online Banking account other than me! Hence, I need to re-confirm my account information with the bank by 18 September or else my account will be suspended. To aid me in doing so, they provided me with a link to update my information. Thanks so much...........
........MY FOOT.
First of all, why does the Bank of America Security Team have an email address that is update@yahoo.com ?!
Secondly, people trying to hack into my account is something serious, so, why is the customer service department signing off the email? In addition, isnt this email supposed to be from the security team?!
Thirdly, is there a Bank of America in Singapore?
Lastly, and the best of all, why am I receiving this email when I dont even have an account?!
So, I decided to click the link and see where it brings me to.

Okay, so it's probably authentic and I would have believed it if not for the fact that this 'fake site' warning popped out.

Click to enlarge. It's written in Japanese but it's basically a warning that the site might be a fake one to cheat people of their credit card information and so on.
So, I decided to log in and try. Not surpisingly, I was allowed to log in even though I typed rubbish for the log-in name and password because...I obviously dont have one. Next, I filled up the information that they wanted. Of course, I typed in crap. Click the following links to see what crap I wrote.
Page 1
Page 2
After I hit the submit button, they were kind enough to show a thank you message.
Thank you message
Wow, I've heard of online scams but I never thought that it would happen to me...someone who doesnt have a bank account to begin with.
